Classification of sleep disorders

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter


The classification of sleep disorders has been of particular interest to clinicians ever since they were initially recognized. The International Classification of Sleep Disorders, 2nd edn (ICSD-2) classification lists 85 sleep disorders, each presented in detail and with a descriptive diagnostic text that includes specific diagnostic criteria. The ICSD-2 has eight major categories: (1) the insomnias; (2) the sleep-related breathing disorders; (3) the hypersomnias not due to a sleep-related breathing disorder; (4) the circadian rhythm sleep disorders; (5) the parasomnias; (6) the sleep-related movement disorders; (7) other sleep disorders; and (8) isolated symptoms, apparently normal variants, and unresolved issues (Table 1.1).

Original languageEnglish (US)
Title of host publicationSleep Disorders
Subtitle of host publicationDiagnosis and Therapeutics
PublisherCRC Press
Number of pages10
ISBN (Electronic)9780203091715
ISBN (Print)9780415438186
StatePublished - Jan 1 2008

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • General Medicine


Dive into the research topics of 'Classification of sleep disorders'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this